PODCAST: Performance Nutrition for Endurance Athletes

Hi there!

As I’m sure you can guess from my absence, starting school part time has required a redistribution of my time from things like taking naps, stretching adequately, cooking delicious food, and most importantly writing fun things for all of you to read! I’m learning to adjust, and figuring out the pockets of time I have to get all that reading and homework done, so hopefully we’ll have some good posts coming your way very soon.

Luckily for you, I’ve been working on some fun projects for work that I can share! I just recorded my first podcast (!) with the fitness centers. They are doing an event called the “Techman Triathlon” where participants log the same mileage of a full ironman at the fitness centers (with rowing substituted for swimming since we don’t have pools). Here is a link to a discussion of sports nutrition that we recorded for the event:

Lesson learned: I’m an “um”-er. Also, not as painful to listen to my own voice as I thought. Videos on the other hand…

9 responses to “PODCAST: Performance Nutrition for Endurance Athletes

    • Thank you! We actually recorded it twice because at the end of the first time I had to run outside and fend off a man that tried to steal a bike off my porch! The dogs went nuts in the background. Chose to record in my office the second time around, and that worked muuuuch better 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • My goodness! How crazy is that?! Go you for fending him off!! I can imagine hearing dogs in the background of a podcast haha. Glad you and your bike are safe and you had a successful recording in the end:)

        Like

  1. Lauren,

    Two questions:

    1. You said beans are starchy vegetables (along with corn and peas). Did you mean green/string beans or legumes like – black/pinto beans etc?
    2. I don’t eat anything before any of my runs – speed work/easy/long runs etc. (only before a race, I eat something). Looks like I need to start eating a small carb rich snack before my runs. Bonk Breaker seems to be pretty high on Sugar ; I assume that’s OK? Also, I see some runners talking about Belvita cookies before their runs. What are your thoughts on that?

    Thanks again for a very informative podcast! Thanks for sharing.
    //Subbu

    Like

  2. Lauren,

    Two questions:

    1. You said beans are starchy vegetables (along with corn and peas). Did you mean green/string beans or legumes like – black/pinto beans etc? I assume it’s the latter, but wanted to check.

    2. I don’t eat anything before any of my runs – speed work/easy/long runs etc. (only before a race, I eat something). Looks like I need to start eating a small carb rich snack before my runs. Bonk Breaker seems to be pretty high on Sugar ; I assume that’s OK? Also, I see some runners talking about Belvita cookies before their runs. What are your thoughts on that?

    Thanks again for a very informative podcast! Thanks for sharing.
    //Subbu

    Like

    • 1. You’re right, I’m talking about legumes. Green beans are non starchy
      2. I know a lot of really good runners who eat nothing before, and it works for them. I do think they (and you!) would begin to notice a difference with something in the tank. Sugar is what you function on during exercise, so that is purposeful when it comes to bonk breakers. Bel vita are a bit lighter and might feel better if you’re just easing into something before your runs. Test it out and see!

      Like

  3. Pingback: WEBINAR: Nutrition for endurance versus power sports, and common misconceptions | How to Eat, R.D.·

Leave a Reply

